Recruitment

Balance Druid Application

If you wish to apply to us, this is the place for you!

by nexin » 23 Jun 2021, 01:33

General:

Your Name, Age, Gender and Location:
Hi! I'm Max, 24 years old and from The Netherlands.

Tell us a little bit about yourself (non-WoW related Interests, Hobbies etc):
I'm working fulltime as a software engineer for a Dutch university and in the final stages of writing my MSc thesis in computer science. Needless to say, I'm a big fan of MMOs and video games in general. I started playing WoW when I was about 10 years of age and ever since, no other game comes close to the enjoyment I get from playing with like-minded people in WoW.
Outside of Azeroth, I keep myself busy with hobby software projects and like to keep healthy by going to the gym four times a week.

Character Information:

Armory Link:
https://worldofwarcraft.com/en-gb/character/eu/arathor/nexin
As a side note, I challenged myself not to transmog for the whole of this expansion so I'm sorry if my character hurts your eyes.

Battletag:
Nexin#2641

What strengths does your class currently bring to the raid (eg; Arms warrior bringing 2 target cleave and execute or Nightfae hunters bringing AOE burst)
The points made below are based on the asssumption that Night Fae + Balance of all Things will remain the best setup for Balance Druids. As of the current sims, Venthyr with another legendary might be better in 9.1 but this is only on paper so far.
TL;DR - Balance druids excel this tier due to their great single target burst with Convoke (+ double on-use trinkets on certain fights to capitalize on this), combined with strong uncapped AoE damage. On top of this, and perhaps most useful in raids is the ability to cast while moving, making balance druids an excellent choice for extra jobs during the encounter, or it simply serving as a DPS increase in movement-heavy fights.

Longer version: